How many letters are there in the Urdu alphabet

How many letters are there in the Urdu alphabet

There are thousands of languages in the world that people speak and Urdu is one of the most popular ones spoken in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and a few other countries.

 It is not always that you know everything about every language and that is when the Write-Online team comes in handy. We explain things in a very simple language so that people can understand it easily.

In this post, we are going to help you understand the letters in the Urdu alphabet.

 Urdu is written from the right-hand side to the left

One important that you will notice when you see written Urdu is that Urdu is written from the Right-hand side towards the left-hand side.

Most languages that you might have read such as English, Hindi, Kannada, Latin, Spanish, and many others are written from the left-hand side that goes towards the right-hand side but languages like Urdu, Arabic, and Persian are written from the right-hand side.

How many vowels and consonants are there in the Urdu Language?

There are 11 vowels and 28 consonants in the Urdu language.

The Urdu script with all the letters including vowels and consonants

ا ب پ ت ٹ ث ج چ

ح خ د ڈ ذ ر ڑ ز

ژس ش ص ض ط ظ ع

غ ف ق ك گ ل م ن

و ہ ئ ى ے

آ ں ة ھ

ْ ّ ً ٰ ُ ِ َ

So, that’s all about the alphabets of Urdu language.

By Imran Soudagar

I'm a writer who loves languages and writes, speaks, and reads 4 amazing languages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.